Light in the Darkness

Buy it now

Front Cover of Light in the Darkness

Light in the Darkness

New Reflections on the Psalms for Every Day of the Year

This is the third and final volume in a trilogy of insightful reflections on some of our oldest and favorite prayers.

The psalms are the oldest prayers in the Judeo-Christian tradition. There are 150 of them, and, like hymns today, they were written for multiple occasions. They are a lexicon of the human condition. They trace the human condition back thousands of years. They assure us that our own hopes and fears, desires and emotions are shared by the rest of humankind. Say this month’s verse from the psalms before every reading. By the end of the month, say it from memory. It will find a soft spot in your heart. Most of all, it will bring your heart the comfort of the ages.

Reviews and endorsements

Chittister’s Christianity is alive with spiritual radiance that makes the ordinary gleam with light and meaning.
Values & Vision

,

In the tradition of Pascal’s Pensees, Merton’s 'Sentences' and even The Imitation of Christ, Joan Chittister offers guidance and inspiration a little bit at a time. A delightful book.
Praying


9780824517489
Paperback / 142 pages
Dimensions: 5 3/8 x 8 1/4
CROSSROAD, 1998